Five Simple Steps to Admission
- Apply to the College through the PHSC Online Application System, receive an email confirmation, and pay the application fee, if applicable.
- Establish Florida Residency (complete the Residency Classification Form)
- Submit Transcripts
- Complete the FAFSA and Apply for Financial Aid and Scholarships
- Complete College Placement Testing
All students are required to establish their residency status as a Florida resident or a Florida non-resident.
A resident for tuition purposes is someone who has maintained legal residence in Florida and has established two legal ties to the state for 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for which Florida residency is sought (s. 1009.26, Florida Statute). First time students at PHSC and returning students who have not attended within the last 12 months, will be required to submit two proofs of residency as outlined below.
The resident status of the dependent student is considered to be that of the parent or legal guardian of the student. A dependent student is any person who is eligible to be claimed by a parent/legal guardian for Internal Revenue purposes. If the student is under 24 years of age, PHSC will assume that the student is a dependent student, and the parent/legal guardian must complete the Residency Classification Form.
If the student is under the age of 24, but meets one of the criteria listed below, they can provide the required documentation and provide their own residency documentation as the “Claimant.”
- Marriage license issued by the Clerk of Court, not the wedding certificate.
- Current military orders or DD-214.
- Current 1040 tax return which shows an income of at least $6,600.00 and is signed and dated physically (electronic signatures will not be accepted).
- Current 1040 tax return which shows the student provides at least 50% of support to a dependent child and is signed and dated physically (electronic signatures will not be accepted).
Legal Guardians are required provide Court Order documentation to prove legal guardianship status. The legal guardian would be required to fill out the residency classification form as the “Claimant” and provide their residency documentation.
If the student is married and cannot provide documentation in their own name to prove residency, the student can use their spouse’s documentation for residency purposes. The student’s spouse would be required to fill out the residency classification form as the “Claimant” and provide their residency documentation.
If the student or “Claimant” cannot provide valid documentation for Florida residency, the student will be classified as a non-Florida resident and will be assessed out-of-state tuition until they can provide documentation that would qualify for in-state tuition. The student will be required to complete a Non-Florida Resident Declaration Form that includes a handwritten signature, but no other supporting documentation is required.
A student who attended PHSC within the last twelve (12) months and is classified as a non-Florida resident (currently paying out-of-state tuition) and wishes to be reclassified as a resident for tuition purposes, must provide a minimum of three (3) documents proving residency and provide a completed Residency Classification Form prior to the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency is sought (s. 1009.26, Florida Statute).
In order to qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, you must be a lawful permanent resident alien, legal alien granted indefinite stay by Homeland Security, or must possess an approved Visa Category. Documentation of permanent resident status or employment authorization is required.
A resident for tuition purposes is someone who has maintained legal residence in Florida and has established two legal ties to the state for 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for which Florida residency is sought (s. 1009.26, Florida Statute). First time students at PHSC and returning students who have not attended within the last 12 months, will be required to submit two proofs of residency as outlined below. Students who have previously been classified as non-Florida resident students and wish to reclassify must provide an updated Residency Classification form and three proofs of residency as outlined below.
At least two documents are required. One of the documents must come from Section A.
- Section A
- Florida voter’s registration card
- Florida driver’s license or state identification card
- Florida vehicle DMV registration
- Homestead exemption or warranty deed
- Official Florida High School transcripts or Florida GED (The student must have attended at least two consecutive years and graduated within the previous 12 months. Must be official transcripts.)
- Letter of employment (Must be on company letterhead, signed and dated by supervisor/employer, and contact information must be included. Multiple letters from multiple employers are permitted to prove 12 month employment history.)
- Declaration of domicile in Florida (Can be obtained from the County Clerk’s Office.)
- Florida professional or occupational license
- Florida incorporation Utility bills (Electric, water, or gas only. Must provide 12-month payment history.)
- Lease agreement with proof of 12 consecutive months of payment (Can provide billing ledger from leasing office or landlord.) Florida ACCESS benefits (Twelve-month payment history of SNAP, TANF, food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, or SSI disability.)
- Active duty service member of the US military stationed or residing in Florida (Current military orders or LES)
- US military veteran honorably discharged within the last 12 months with home of record in Florida (DD-214)
- Full-time instructional and administrative personnel employed by the State of Florida public school system and Florida public IHE. (School contract)
- Florida Pre-Paid (Current statement or pre-paid card with the student’s photo ID.)
- State of Florida Department of Children and Families Tuition and Fee Exemption for Students Receiving or Formerly Receiving Services from the Department of Children and Families (Request document from DCF case worker.)
Student / “Claimant” must provide valid Florida driver’s license or state issued ID with documents